Correcting Barrel Distortion

Because my 17-85mm is not particularly great at the wide end, I will usually have to deal with barrel distortion. My research indicates that there’s only one good and common way to correct barrel distortion:  using the open source Panorama Tools. Plugins that employ Panorama Tools are available for Photoshop and GIMP. There’s also a standalone program that uses Panorama Tools — it’s called hugins (don’t ask me where the name came from).

Panorama Tools is extremely user-unfriendly. (This reminds me of my experience with the open source FFmpeg utility for performing video format conversions. Why are such common power tools such frakking bitches to use???) Open source developers are archetypical geeks who have zero understanding or concern for user-friendliness. A pox on them.

Anyway, I have my work cut out for me to learn how to correct for barrel distortions. (Don’t think the problem goes away if I buy a $2,800 EF 14mm f/2.8 L lens.)

One Response to “Correcting Barrel Distortion”

  1. Richard Says:

    I found a cracked version of DXO Optics Pro, which is excellent for solving lens distortion problems:

    http://vinasofts.mobi/forum/78974-dxo-optics-pro-5-3-maybe-incl-dxo-film-pack.html

    It’s a slightly older version. I have 5.3.0.7246, and the latest is 5.3.3.7347.

    I can’t complain. A free older version is better than dishing out money for the latest and greatest.

    I Googled “DXO Optics crack” and found lots and lots and lots of websites. Most of them, however, were very questionable (and many were flagged by avast! antivirus). Most of them also use bit torrent and I hate this.

    Many of them supposedly offer v. 5.3.3, but I don’t want to take a chance with questionable websites or bit torrent. Such are the travails of a Cheap Bastard…

Leave a Reply

