Good Day For Me

It was a good day for me…

Yesterday, Henry’s called me and said my backordered Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 USM macro lens had arrived. This afternoon, I went down to pick it up. I assumed, and hoped, that the price was CAD$650.

It was. I’m astonished that Henry’s could sell it to me at the old price. The sales guy said that I was very lucky:  I was getting one of the very last macro lenses at that price, and they’re *very* hard to find. Canon was going to hike prices very soon, he said.

Funny, Canon had already hiked prices on April 1st. So I surmise the sales guy was referring to that particular price increase. For whatever reason, there is a lag at Henry’s for the new Canon prices. And I benefitted greatly from that lag!

I’m a very happy camper.

But the story doesn’t end there. I also wanted to buy the Lowepro Fastpack 250 camera bag (regular price $110). This particular bag can carry a 15″ laptop. I wanted this feature because I think I will bring a laptop with me on my field trips. It would be useful for 2 reasons:

  1. I can make notes about my adventure.
  2. I can download images from the camera, thereby freeing up space on the CF card, and letting me do photo previews (previewing images on the camera’s 3″ LCD is ridiculous). Moreover, if I can find a Wi-Fi hotspot, I can immediately post my pictures.

When I went to pay for the Lowepro, I was told that it was on sale — I would get the bag for $88. When I checked the price *yesterday*, it was $110. So that means the sale started *today*!!!

Shit, I am one lucky frakking bastard!

One Response to “Good Day For Me”

  1. Something I discovered with my Lowepro bag: the 70-300mm is too long to fit into any of the lens compartments in the bag. So I will have to mount it on the camera whenever I travel with this bag. The 17-85mm kit lens and the 100mm macro lens fit nicely in those compartments.

    The bag itself weighs 3.6 lbs. With my camera and 3 lenses, the backpack is already fairly heavy!! I can’t imagine how pro photographers lug around a D700 with 4 or 5 lenses all day long!

    Fortunately, I’d never wear the bag for a whole day. Perhaps half a day (morning or afternoon). I’m too old and weary to hike for a full day…

Leave a Reply

