Price-gouging

I wanted to get lens hoods for my 17-85mm and 70-300mm lenses. At CAD$65 and CAD$75, respectively, they are outrageously expensive! I am totally disgusted with Canon.

Anyway, I found a way to get them cheap…on eBay. I ordered the hoods (US$6.35 and US$9) from a small outfit in Hong Kong. Includes free shipping, too!

On a side note, I just noticed that Canon has raised the prices on nearly all their lenses on April 1st. It came as a great shock to me. I was considering getting the 100mm f/2.8 macro lens, and now I’ll have to pay a hundred dollars more! <Ouch!>

UPDATE: I just ordered the lens from Frederick’s Foto Source in St. Catherines, Ontario, for CAD$600. I guess they had some leftover stock at the old price. Lucky me.

But it does mean a long drive (240 km round trip) from Toronto to pick it up.

UPDATE: Frederick’s lied. They told me that there was an “error” on their website and that the price is actually $800. Yeah, right. I think they contacted their supplier, found out that Canon hiked prices, and passed on the difference to me. Unethical. They should’ve honoured their original price.

Henry’s offers the lens for CAD$650, but it has to be backordered. We shall see whether they come back with the same story (can’t sell for the listed price)…

Leave a Reply

